Want to get a cast iron pan

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
Kekoa

Want to get a cast iron pan

Post by Kekoa »

I am really wanting to try out a cast iron pan in my kitchen so I am looking for suggestions on what to consider getting.

I use 12 in. pans more than any other size, but I'm sure if I should start smaller to see if I like it first, I've never used cast iron before. I don't know what to look for when it comes to cast iron, but I found some pans at a local antique shop for around 35$ a piece. No idea if they are any good but I plan on taking some pictures next time I go.

As for something new though, I don't need anything fancy, but I do appreciate quality and long term value, so it doesn't need to be dirt cheap either. Not sure who uses cast iron but would appreciate any pointers on proper use and care as well as suggestions for what to get.

Oh, and while I'm talking cast iron, I could use suggestions for a Dutch Oven too if anyone has any. My Mom is interested in getting one of those, but neither of us know what to look for.
XexoX

Re: Want to get a cast iron pan

Post by XexoX »

Get this one. You won't be disappointed.

West Japan Tools Carbon Steel Skillet 30cm
You can blame Mr. Suburban for my being here. :lol:
The thing about quotes on the internet is you can not confirm their validity. -- Abraham Lincoln
All steels are equal if you can't keep them sharp. -- Jeff B.
ronnie_suburban

Post by ronnie_suburban »

Given what you've laid out here, if it were me, I'd buy a Lodge and fuggedaboutit. Inexpensive, reliable af and insanely durable.

If you've seen any of his pics on the 'What did you cook today?' thread, when it comes to cast iron, billk1002 is your guy. I'm guessing he'll have more experienced information to share, especially when it comes to seasoning, care and maintenance.
=R=
Half of cooking is thinking about cooking.
stevem627

Post by stevem627 »