stones for powdered steels with high wear resistance

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
caerolle

stones for powdered steels with high wear resistance

Post by caerolle »

Hi, I hope this is okay here. The knives I want to sharpen are not from CKtG, but I think I can probably get the stones I need from here (if I really need any).

I have a lot of experience sharpening white #1 and #2, Ginsan, and AEB-L-ish kitchen knives, which are not very demanding of stones. I have owned 2 -3 R2/SG2 knives, which IIRC are powder steel, but I found those to sharpen really easily also (I think that steel has fairly low wear resistance?). I have some nice water stones that satisfy me really well for my kitchen knives.

However, I want to buy 2 - 3 folding knives, which are a different beast and have different steels from those with which I am accustomed, and I would like to get some advice on what to use.

These knives would have very short blades, 3 - 3-1/2".

The (I think?) harder to sharpen steels would fall in the following (not all would apply, still trying to decide what knives to get):
  • CPM154
    CPM-S35V
    M390/CPM-20CV
Some that are perhaps not so hard to sharpen steels (maybe?):
  • N690
    Nitro-V
I am guessing I could use my softer water stones for these, but would take hella long. What would be appropriate for these steels? I am thinking Shapton Glass? Or do I need diamond plates? The problem with diamond plates is the grits I want are not available on CKtG. I do think I could find them elsewhere, but would rather buy here of course.

I appreciate any advice anyhow has! Thx!

Carol
ex1580

Re: stones for powdered steels with high wear resistance

Post by ex1580 »

Welcome!

This topic seems to be coming up a lot lately. Rather than repeating what has been said I will leave some relevant links below. After you read those if you have any questions please follow up. Thanks!