Extensive Review of the Yoshimi Hino White #2 Bunka 170mm

garchtoto

Extensive Review of the Yoshimi Hino White #2 Bunka 170mm

Post by garchtoto »

Brand new before being used
Brand new before being used
Background:

Me: I'm not a professional cook or a trained chef by any means. I'm just a dude who really likes Japanese knives and loves to cook for friends and family. I've been cooking ever since I was in middle school, learning as much as I could from my mom and grandma. On average, I spend about 4-6 hours on the weekend prepping ingredients or making food for the week since my wife and I usually don't have time throughout the week cook everyday. I usually like to push cut, pull cut, with the occasional chopping action from time to time. I am not a big rocker although I like knives to have a bit of belly. For some reason, I don't get along with flat knives. Typical pinch grip. I'm not an expert sharpener but I feel that I am competent to get a really good edge on my knives.
After a few months of using it and with a coffee patina!!
After a few months of using it and with a coffee patina!!
The Knife and Facts: Yoshimi Hino White #2 Bunka 170mm
https://www.chefknivestogo.com/yohiwh2bu17.html

Blacksmith: Yoshimi Kato

Construction: Hammer Forged, San Mai

Edge Steel: White #2

HRC: 61

Cladding: Stainless Steel (edge is exposed)

Finish: Basket Weave

Brand Name: Yoshimi Hino

Handle: Sandalwood D Shape

Ferrule: Black Pakkawood

Edge Grind: Even 50/50 Double Bevel

Engraving: Laser

Weight: 4.6 oz/ 130 g

Blade Length: 173mm

Overall Length: 313 mm

Spine Thickness at Heel: 2.9 mm

Blade Height at Heel: 46.9mm

Initial Thoughts: