set to start sharpening .... for a final barbershop

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
camilorosso

set to start sharpening .... for a final barbershop

Post by camilorosso »

I am starting in the world of sharpening, and I have some cheap Amazon stones that come in 1000, 2000, 6000 and 1000, which have given me a decent edge.

I'm not a professional chef, but I like hard carbon Japanese knives.

I'm thinking of buying a set of stones that last a long time, the idea is not to fill myself with too many stones, for now I was thinking about the 8k and 16k shapton glass, and the ones I have to correct and start sharpening, ending up with these 2. as you can see my choice? so I have read the shapton glass work very well with hard metals
Ourorboros

Re: set to start sharpening .... for a final barbershop

Post by Ourorboros »

Most people would find the 16K Shapton Glass to be much finer than needed.
Also a 6K and 8K aren't really that different. Depends on brand, not all work on the exact same scale.

I think you'd be better off with a 320 and quality stones.
Radar53

Post by Radar53 »

Ourorboros wrote: Thu Sep 22, 2022 8:29 pm Most people would find the 16K Shapton Glass to be much finer than needed.
Also a 6K and 8K aren't really that different. Depends on brand, not all work on the exact same scale.

I think you'd be better off with a 320 and quality stones.
This is good advice and would be my thoughts as well. You want your coarse stones to really up to the job because they are for removing steel for repairs or for forming your initial edges. That is they do the heavy lifting right up front. After that the following stones really only refine an edge that you've already formed and hopefully got some decent sort of edge already. In my experience I've successfully used fine, non-premium stones to dress up an edge that I've created using a good quality, coarse stone.