How to care for carbon steel knives?

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
ChefKnivesToGo
Site Admin

How to care for carbon steel knives?

Post by ChefKnivesToGo »

Hi

I am a newbie to high-end Japanese knives and currently use a vg10 yoshihiro gyuto and kramer sg2 Damascus chef's knife. I would like to venture into Japanese knives made with AS with a Kurouchi finish to diversify my budding collection. I was thinking about a Moritaka AS knife but I am very concerned about oxidation/ease of care. I never owned a carbon knife before but love the look of the Kurouchi finish. I don't mind wiping dry the carbon knives but applying oil to it each time after use is not ideal for my personal use.

I just ordered a Masakage Koichi 210mm from your website because it seems like the stainless steel clad will help with ease of maintenance yet it has a Korouchi finish. I am also looking for a sujihiki and petty etc but everything in the Masakage Koichi line is sold out. I plan to use the gyuto a majority of the time so will be cutting tons of acidic items. I also like the fact that the video review said the M. Koichi is a little more stout since I will be using it as an all-purpose knife (except boning etc).

My questions are -

1. Is there a significant difference in the ease of maintenance between something like the Moritaka AS and the M. Koichi lines due to the difference in cladding? Again, assuming the stainless is "better" for ease of maintenance than the iron cladding?

2. If the answer to question 1 is yes - are there other lines of knives you'd recommend with an AS core and a Kurouchi finish but with stainless clad?

Would love to hear your insight into my questions and pls list any recommendations if possible.

Thank you so much for your time!
Mark Richmond
Co-Owner Chefknivestogo
https://www.chefknivestogo.com/newarrivals.html
taz575

Re: How to care for carbon steel knives?

Post by taz575 »