Looking for 1st Nakiri

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
rickadkins

Looking for 1st Nakiri

Post by rickadkins »

My first post, and I have to say the forum is great. I love how helpful everyone is.

I'm looking for a very nice wa handled nakiri. I would like to stay under $200.00. I'm a home cook, a vegetarian, and my knife skills are average.

I'm more of a chopper as far as my cutting style, and I really like the all reactive carbon knives I've looked at on the website. It's just me at home, so maintenance on the knife won't be an issue. However, if someone recommends stainless over reactive I would certainly consider that.

I really want a well made, traditional Japanese nakiri, probably the 165mm version, although I saw a couple 150mm knives that were interesting.

Any advice you're willing to share would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone.
Infrared

Re: Looking for 1st Nakiri

Post by Infrared »

Japanese stainless is very high quality, so it will perform as good, if not better than carbon. The main difference is that carbon is easier to sharpen while stainless is easier maintenance.

Gihei Blue #2 Nakiri 165mm https://www.chefknivestogo.com/gibl2na16.html
Stainless clad with a carbon core (cutting edge) so you get the best of both worlds.

The Gihei is a bit shorter than your average nakiri. If you want something more "average" in height, check this out.

Yahiko Sanjo White #2 Nashiji Nakiri 165mm https://www.chefknivestogo.com/yasaw2na16.html

Both are very well made and excel in performance, so you can't go wrong with either.
rickadkins

Post by rickadkins »

Thanks so much. I’ll take a look.
JASinIL2006

Post by JASinIL2006 »

For my first nakiri, my sister bought this for me (from CKTG, of course): https://www.chefknivestogo.com/hag3na16.html