Dao Vua Sharpening Angle

If you have questions about sharpening products, steels or techniques post them here.
Paul282

Dao Vua Sharpening Angle

Post by Paul282 »

I purchased a Dao Vua 240 gyuto A) to see how I like a reactive blade, B) to see how I like that blade length and C) to practice sharpening on something other than stainless steel. I am a completely novice sharpener. I'm currently working on "mastering the 1k". I dont think that bit of background impacts the answer to this question but I wanted to provide that on the off chance it mattered. I think that Dao Vua knives bear some similarities to j knives but their hardness is closer to the German knife end of the spectrum I believe? Given that's true.. am I good to sharpen it at the one angle (~20°) that I'm building my sharpening muscle memory?
Last edited by Paul282 on Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bensbites

Re: Dao Vua Sharpening Angle

Post by Bensbites »

I am sure that will work. I am less concerned about my angle and more about finding a reproducible metric. For example, most blades I hold the knife in my right hand lay my index finger on the spine and hold the knife in an edge trailing position. I keep my index finger just off the stone. Reset the bevel on a course stone, same angle on a medium stone and you will be ready to roll!
Altadan

Post by Altadan »

In my experience with the Daovua 210, I've found your observation about the hardness to ring true; on the one hand, my iteration doesn't seem to hold an edge for very long (which could have multiple reasons), and on the other, it is very amenable to honing on a steel, which tells me it wasn't heat-treated very hard. [On a different note, I find the reactivity, as well as many other attributes of the Daovua to be very, very different from Jknives]
Of course we're getting all manner of reports from these fun knives, and experiences differ some.

As for sharpening it,