Twice in one week!

For questions/topics that don't fit into the other, more specific forums.
ronnie_suburban

Twice in one week!

Post by ronnie_suburban »

Twice this week, friends for whom I recently sharpened knives informed me that they'd cut themselves on the knives I'd done for them. Both commented on how sharp the knives were; one referring to them as "sharp AF." I've been sharpening for just under two years and doubt I've sharpened more than 400 knives in that time. So, I'm still very much a n00b. And I'm not happy that I indirectly caused injury to anyone, let alone friends but hey, I guess my sharpening skills are steadily improving. In D&D terms, I think I'm now Level 2. :D
=R=
Half of cooking is thinking about cooking.
gladius

Re: Twice in one week!

Post by gladius »

Congrats!
At this stage, what is your favorite progression?
ronnie_suburban

gladius wrote: Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:29 am Congrats!
At this stage, what is your favorite progression?
Well, I don't have many freehand stones and as you can guess, most of the knives that come my way are fairly similar to each other -- assorted stainless Henckels, Wusthof or Shun that are very dull and occasionally have minor damage. What I've found works very nicely is starting with either the Shapton Pro 220x or Suehiro Cerax 320 Grit (if they're really beat up, I'll start with the Atoma Diamond 140), followed by Suehiro Cerax 1k and then Naniwa Professional Chosera 3k. At the end, I almost always double-strop on bovine, first with 4μ and then finally with 2μ (both CBN). I have some of Ken's nano strops and some finer compounds but I've yet to deploy them.

I also recently picked up a full set of Nubatama Platinum stones from Ken that are cut for Edge Pro Systems (I have a Hapstone that I use mainly for my EDCs). I like those stones a lot and have had fun messing around with them, mostly on my EDCs. I may pick up a few of them in full-size, soon.
=R=
ChefKnivesToGo
Site Admin

Post by ChefKnivesToGo »