Swtiching from a Wusthof

We encourage you to post your questions about kitchen knives here. We can give you help choosing a knife.
ChefKnivesToGo
Site Admin

Swtiching from a Wusthof

Post by ChefKnivesToGo »

Hello CKTG,
Searching for my last kitchen knife. I've been using a henckel 240mm chef knife for over 30 yrs..it has served me well and will continue to do so. I am only home cook but enjoy the use of quality and precision tools,that when I pick it up can say, this is truly made by a craftsman first, artisan second. To add a challenge to this endeavor a budget of under $300 is given.
Things I like about my henckel knife:

Distal taper
Stainless/ easy care
Height
Heftyness
Length
Grind
Stiffness
Multi tasks
50/50 grind

Things I would expect:
Length- way over sized 210mm/ 240 or under
Sharpness- screaming
spine thickness - min. 3mm
Height -higher than 47mm
Weight - lighter than 9oz
Fit and finish - excellent
Easy sharpening on whetstones
wrapped stainless clad
Carbon core
Well balanced
Toughness-As tough as can be expected ( for chopping nuts)
Nimble feel
No wedging
No sticking
Excellent grind/ thin tip
Versatile profile
Straight blade!
Lefty grind or a 50/50

Questions and Comments:
Handle - ho or wa ? And why
How to take care of a carbon steel core knife?
How long can I expect in the life of a carbon knife?
Dont like the thick bolster on the henckel can`t sharpen that part easily
Hold- pinch grip

I'm Left handed
Cutting style from rocking, pull/ push, to chopping

I am truly looking forward to hear from you.

Thank you for all your help,

Michael
Mark Richmond
Co-Owner Chefknivestogo
https://www.chefknivestogo.com/newarrivals.html
ChefKnivesToGo
Site Admin

Re: Swtiching from a Wusthof

Post by ChefKnivesToGo »

Hi Michael,

You covered most of these but my standard form helps me focus and there are a couple things you missed.

1) Pro or home cook? (Home User)
2) What kind of knife do you want? (gyuto, santoku, etc)
3) What size knife do you want?