Newbie bought a seven piece set of Kramer Zwilling Meiji for $749 new

howardarbutus

Newbie bought a seven piece set of Kramer Zwilling Meiji for $749 new

Post by howardarbutus »

I was going to SurLaTable Portland Oregon store closing. They had a set of new Kramer Zwilling Meiji seven piece set on sale 50% off. I had used a Zwilling knife before and it was very sharp and useful. So I bought it. I think it is a good deal. But I am a newbie in the knife world.

1) How do I care for this knife set?
2) Was it a good deal? It was still quite expensive.
3) How do I sharpen it in the future? Portland has Portland Knife House that will sharpen it for me on stone or mechanical.

Thanks for the help.
Howard
polytope

Re: Newbie bought a seven piece set of Kramer Zwilling Meiji for $749 new

Post by polytope »

For reference:
4" Paring Knife
5" Utility Knife
8" Chef's Knife
9" Slicing Knife
10" Bread Knife
12" Double Cut Honing Steel
8 Slot Wood Knife Block

Hand-honed Honbazuke blade boasts scalpel-like sharpness; 61 Rockwell Hardness with 15° angle on each side

core of FC61 fine carbide stainless steel is protected by 100 layers of nickel and stainless steel
FC61 is probably VG10.

"Honbazuke" here probably just means that you have an out of the box usable knife, as opposed to a knife which you're expected to sharpen according to your specific desires after you purchase it. I seriously doubt that all the knives are "hand honed", especially the serrated one.

Regarding the contents:

You shouldn't use that honing rod on knives of that hardness. Use a smooth steel or ceramic rod, if anything.

I personally wouldn't get a fancy bread knife; they aren't worth the trouble to sharpen because of the serrations, and sharpening a VG10 would be even more of a pain.

The steel and construction look fine. No bolsters to get in the way, handles look good, but the cladding (think of it like wood veneer on furniture) is a little flashy and busy for my taste.